Vive le difference

Under the FCI (Federation Cynologique Internationale) system, there are 10 Groups of dogs.  One of the most frequent comments from exhibitors is how interesting it is to compete in a different group than they are exposed to within the regular dog show circuit. Many breeds, which are recognized by FCI, are rarely seen outside the European show venues but have the ability to be exhibited and achieve Champion status Fédération Canine du Canada show system of which CANS is a Member Club.  This provides an opportunity both for dog show enthusiasts/breeder/owners and the general public to learn more about a wide variety of dogs from around the globe.


The Groups are:

GROUP 1: Sheepdogs and Cattle Dogs (except Swiss Cattle Dogs)

GROUP 2: Pinscher and Schnauzer - Molossoid Breeds - Swiss Mountain and Cattle Dogs

GROUP 3: Terriers

GROUP 4: Dachshunds

GROUP 5: Spitz and Primitive types

GROUP 6: Scenthounds and Related Breeds

GROUP 7: Pointing Dogs

GROUP 8: Retrievers - Flushing Dogs - Water Dogs

GROUP 9: Companion and Toy Dogs

GROUP 10: Sighthounds


To view the entire listing of Breeds designated in each Group along with their Standard, please use the links listed on the Menu at left.  For the Individual Breed Standards, please visit the FCI website